iOS Data Recovery

Deleted Data Recovery from iOS Devices


inG8 for iOS can recover deleted data from iPhones, iPads, and iPod Touches. Deleted data can be recovered from the device itself or from iTunes backup files. inG8 can recover data in two ways. The first is by recovering deleted data that has not been overwritten by the operating system. This is for things like text messages (SMS), call logs, contacts, and other text based data. The other way inG8 recovers data is by finding that data in places the user does not have access to from the device. Examples of this are recovering data that was deleted from the phone by finding it in the iTunes backup file or iCloud backup. Another example of this may be finding photos that are hidden by file hiding apps or finding attached photos or videos buried deep in messages, even if the original photos have been deleted from the camera roll.

Please note that support for deleted data recovery from apps depends on the app version and iOS version. The chart below shows the app name, app version, and iOS version needed to recover deleted data from apps.

App Support for Deleted Data Recovery - iOS
ApplicationSupported App VersionsSupported iOS Version
Gmail4.0, 3.1415926, 3.0.2, 2.718288.2
Google Chrome53.2785.109, 43.2357.61, 41.2272.58, 42.2311.47, 39.2171.5010.0.1
Google Maps4.22.2, 4.16.0, 4.11.68024 , 4.11.010.0.1
Jott Messenger2.8.0, 2.1.16, 1.7.810.0.1
KIK9.9.0, 8.10.0, 8.7.0, 8.5.1, 8.1.0, 7.7.1, 7.2.1, 7.1.0, 6.6.09.3
Evernote7.8.1, 7.7.10, 7.7.8, 7.7.0, 7.6.5, 7.6.3, 7.4.0, 7.3.5, 7.2, 7.0, 5.4.6, 5.4.3, 4.3.49.1
WhatsApp2.12.9, 2.12.5, 2.12.3, 2.12.2, 2.11.16, 2.11.149.1
Whisper4.6.6, 4.6.4, 4.6.0, 4.5.49.1
Mail.ru4.3.4, 4.0.1, 4.0, 3.1.18.0.2

General Data Recovery Notes
inG8 cannot guarantee any specific data will be recovered. Deleted data is volatile and may simply not exist anymore for recovery. Sometimes, partial data recovery is possible. In these cases, inG8 may only be able to recover a portion of a message or photo. inG8 attempts to remove duplicate data that has been recovered. This means that if a text message was deleted but several copies of the message are recovered, inG8 will only display one copy of the recovered message. Exceptions to this occur when partial messages are recovered. If a message has a duplicate that was recovered but only a portion of the message was recovered, inG8 will display both or all copies of the messages that do not match exactly.

Before You Buy inG8 for iOS

Download inG8 for iOS and make sure it downloads data from your device. You will be given a preview of the data available. Save your workspace to your computer and after you register the software, you can open up the workspace and all the data you downloaded will be displayed, including any recovered deleted data.

Deleted Data FAQs

There is no set amount of time for deleted data recovery. Sometimes, you may recover data from years ago. Sometimes, you may not be able to recover data deleted yesterday. Data can be recovered as long as it hasn't been permanently deleted or overwritten by the operating system. Sometimes, your best bet at recovering data is to load the iTunes backup file into inG8 for iOS. If the data was deleted from your device but wasn't deleted at the time of your last backup, you will be able to recover the data.

Recovery from damaged devices depends on the extent of the damage. If the screen is cracked but you can still select the option to "Trust" your computer when you connect the device, you will be able to recover data. If the device cannot connect to your computer, you may still be able to recover data from the iTunes backup file.

Due to the nature of deleted data, we cannot guarantee that any specific data will be recovered. Data may be overwritten or simply not exist on the device or backup file anymore.

When you use the demo version of inG8 for iOS, you can download all the data from the device or load the iTunes backup file. After you download the data, save your workspace to your computer. After you register your software, you can open up this workspace and all the data will be displayed. If you did not save your workspace from the demo version, you will need to connect your device or load your iTunes backup file and perform a new recovery.